The following are Immunization Requirements set forth by the Arkansas Department of Health and Education beginning school year 2014 - 2015:
NOTE: We recently sent home notes informing you of the Immunization Requirements set forth by the Arkansas Department of Health and Education beginning school year 2014 – 2015. After doing so, we received another notice informing us that the Arkansas Department of Health is implementing a change to the updated regulations to better align with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Advisory Committee on Immunizations Practices (ACIP). These changes in immunization requirements will be effective as of September 1, 2014. The differences between this notice and the last notice are marked with an asterisk *
The following vaccines are required by specific grades or age are in addition to:
4 DTaP vaccines, *3 Polio vaccines, 2 MMR vaccines, 2 Varicella vaccines, 3 Hepatitis B vaccines which are required for all students Kindergarten through 12th grade
*Kindergarten and Grade 1 students: 1 Hepatitis A vaccine.
*11 years of age or older by September 1, 2014: One-time dose Tdap Vaccine
7th grade: 1st dose of Meningococcal vaccine
16 years of age or older by September 1, 2014: Meningococcal vaccine. If student has had 1 dose prior to age 16, a
second dose is required
Kindergarten through 12th grade: must have 2 Varicella vaccines
We also want you to be aware that you can get your child the Tdap immunization as soon as your child turns 11 years of age. Likewise, you can get your child the Meningococcal as soon as your child turns 16 years of age. These two immunizations are based on age, NOT by school grade.
The Crawford County Health Unit, 2040 Chestnut (474-6391) will be holding Immunization clinics that will NOT require an appointment every Thursday in May (1st, 8th, 15th, 22nd, 29th) from 3:00pm – 5:30pm. Otherwise, you can call them for an appointment. The Health Department encourages you to call before ‘Walking In’ with your child without an appointment as there is no guarantee you will be seen in a timely manner.
PLEASE BE ADVISED: These are new state-wide requirements and our Health Department services the entire Crawford County, not just the Alma School District. The sooner you get an appointment and take care of this/these requirement(s), the better. If you delay until this summer, you may find that your child may not be in compliance by the school entry deadline. If your child has not been seen at the Health Department previously, you must bring your child’s immunization record.
It the parent’s responsibility to provide your child’s school with all updated immunization records!
All students Kindergarten through 12th grade will need the following:
- 5 doses of DTaP
- Minimum of 4 doses if the 4th dose was administered on or after the 4th birthday
- 3 doses of polio with the last dose on or after the 4th birthday
- 2 doses of varicella (chickenpox)
- May accept written DOCUMENTATION from M.D./DO/ANP/PA only
- 2 doses of MMR (measles mumps rubella)
- 3 doses of Hep B (some 11-15 yr olds have a 2 dose series/must be indicated on record)
If your child is entering Kindergarten they should have
- 1 dose of Hepatitis A
If your child is entering 1st Grade they should have
- 2 doses of Hepatitis A
If your child will be age 11 on or before September 1st 2014
- 1 dose of Tdap (if your child will be 10 after school starts and before September 1st/your child will need to receive vaccine within 30 days of birthday)
If your child will be entering 7th grade
- 1 dose of Meningococcal vaccine
If your child is 16 years of age
- 2 doses of Meningococcal vaccine
- If 1st dose received on or after age 16 only one dose required
- No doses required for students age 17 and older
Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Immunization Requirements are duly adopted and promulgated by the Arkansas State Board of Health pursuant to the authority expressly conferred by the laws of the State of Arkansas including, without limitation, Ark. Code Ann. § 20-7-109, Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-702, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-60-501 - 504, and Ark. Code Ann. § 20-78-206.