Title I

Picture representing Title I

Title I and School Improvement


Dr. Brian Campbell, Director


Columbia County School District

4781 Hereford Farm Road

Evans, GA 30809

706-541-0650 ext. 5230


CCBOE Supports NCLB Legislation


Elementary and Secondary Education Act Waiver


In September of 2011, the United States Department of Education invited states to seek a waiver from various sections of Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) due to consensus from across the nation that certain aspects of the law encouraged some states to set lower academic standards, failed to recognize or reward schools showing growth in student achievement, and did little to promote the teaching profession or recognize the most effective teachers. Georgia Department of Education applied for the ESEA Flexibility Waiver to allow for greater flexibility in the way the state measures schools for accountability, as well as added flexibility in the way schools, school districts, and the state work to improve struggling schools. As of March 30, 2012, Georgia was one of only 10 states to have been granted a waiver from No Child Left Behind (NCLB). This waiver allows our state to identify and support schools where students continue to struggle based on student achievement growth or student subgroup performance issues; to unify federal law with Georgia’s accountability system focused on college and career readiness; and to exercise greater flexibility with federal funding.

Under Georgia’s new system, AYP is no longer the state’s accountability measure. Using 2010 – 2011 school year assessment and graduation rate data, a percentage of schools have been identified as Reward, Priority, Focus, or Alertschools. Only schools receiving Title I funds are eligible for the new school designations of Reward, Priority, and Focus; schools receiving School Improvement Grants are eligible for the Priority School designation; and all schools are eligible to receive the Alert School designation.