History of FRS

History of FRS

Image

 

 

The Forked River School’s story begins in 1860, when a one-room schoolhouse was built. This is now the Schoolhouse Museum on Route 9. By 1950, increasing enrollments at the old schoolhouses in Forked River and Lanoka Harbor led to use of the Community Hall for some classes, and plans were made for a new Lacey Township School in Forked River. 

In 1952, the Lacey Township School (now Forked River School) opened on Lacey Road. Ms. Leona Landon was the first Principal, followed by Mr. Edward Albertson, and Mr. Ralph Turp. As more families moved to Lacey, the old schoolhouse had to be reopened temporarily as the first addition was made to the school in 1957.

In the early years, Mr. Chester Charecko, Mr. Edward Slickes and Mr. David Elliot served as Principals of Forked River School. Mr. George Mitchell became Principal in 1969, and the first grade wing was added in 1974. Mr. Robert Paladino, a former Forked River School teacher, returned to the district to become Principal in 1974 and retired after 32 years of serving the families of Forked River with caring and commitment.  The current principal, Mr. Eric Fiedler, was hired as Mr. Paladino's successor and is leading the Forked River School with its rich history and traditions into the twenty-first century with innovation and pride. 

Although our school has a long history, it is also right in step with the innovative instructional technology of today. In addition to wired internet connectivity, the entire building has wireless (wifi) accessibility.  There is a technology lab and two rolling laptop labs for instructional use and each classroom is equipped with an interactive Promethean Board for enhanced instructional opportunities.  Our sixtieth anniversary celebration provided us the opportunity to celebrate our rich history while setting our course for the next sixty years! 

 

 

Go Lions!