English

English
Picture representing English

English courses provide instruction in oral language, reading and literature, writing and grammar, research, and vocabulary. Students practice whole-class and independent reading, and teachers provide skills for reading fiction and nonfiction.

 

Parents of all students have the ability to view their child’s progress in school via the Aspen Family Portal. Please visit the Aspen Family Portal page for additional information. 

 

The Secondary Program of Studies provides a complete directory of courses offered within the York County School Division, along with course descriptions. Below is the list of Grafton High School teachers and courses taught in this content area.

 

Teachers

Courses

 Charity Ayres

Adv. English 9

cayres@ycsd.york.va.us  

English 11

 

Heather Brown

AP English 11  Language and Composition

hbrown@ycsd.york.va.us  

English 11

 

 

Kristin Dilley

English 9

kdilley@ycsd.york.va.us  

English 11

Wallace Green

AP English 12  Literature and   Composition

wgreen@ycsd.york.va.us  

Evolution of Cinema A & B

English 11

 

 

Tina-Marie Hamilton

English 9

thamilton@ycsd.york.va.us  

English 10

Aaron McQuillan

Adv. English 10

amcquillan@ycsd.york.va.us  

Leadership Seminar

Yearbook/Mass Media I & II

 

 

Tongela Lacey

Adv. English 9

tlacey@ycsd.york.va.us  

English 9

 

Creative Writing: Prose

 

Literary Magazine II

 

 

Mary Flaherty Nobile

Adv. English 10

mflaherty-nobile@ycsd.york.va.us

English 12

 

 

Chris Sievers

English 12

csievers@ycsd.york.va.us    

English 10

 

 

Nicholas Valenti

English 12

nvalenti@ycsd.york.va.us  

English 10

 

 

Lori Woods

English 10

lwoods@ycsd.york.va.us  

AP English 11 Language and Composition