About the Foundation

About the Foundation


The U-46 Educational Foundation, incorporated in 2006, aims to cultivate educational programs and activities not typically financed with tax dollars, from U-46 Observatory and Planetarium shows to college scholarships. The 16-member Board oversees this non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, which has distributed nearly $500,000 to District programs and students in the past decade.



The primary means of fundraising is through individual and corporate donations. The Foundation will not replace or duplicate any of the U-46 parent groups or business partnerships. In some cases, projects may be collaborative. While many organizations support specific schools, the Foundation aims to support initiatives that impact, enhance, or complement the District’s educational offerings for as many schools and students as possible.


In 2016, the Educational Foundation was pleased to award a number of grants, including the following:


  • $5,000 to the School and Community Relations Department for the ParentLink communications app. The mobile app had nearly 12,000 downloads by spring 2017.


  • $5,000 to the Planetarium for classroom materials to support the new sky show, "The Moon." This marks $20,000 in grants awarded to the Planetarium since the Foundation's inception.


  • $5,000 to Illinois Science Olympiad, supporting U-46 middle school and high school teams competing in the international STEM-based academic competition.


U46 Educational Foundation

The 2016-17 U-46 Educational Foundation Board members.


The Foundation Board is comprised of community volunteers who work closely with the superintendent and other district staff to expand the scope and activities of the foundation. The Board of Directors consists of longtime supporters of U-46 who either live in or have a business interest in the district. Two U-46 Board of Education members and the superintendent also serve on the board.


Current officers and directors are:



E.C. "Bud" Wilson, President
Leo Nelson, Vice President
Scott Damisch, Treasurer
Michael R. Baggot, Secretary
Jaime Garcia, Past President


Board of Directors

Sharon Caddigan
Marlene Daubert
Elizabeth Hoeft
Larry Jones
Velma Sept
Corey M. Short
Chandler Swan
Don Waters
President Emeritus
Sue Rakow
Honorary Foundation Board Member
Jack Shales 
Board of Education Members
Sue Kerr
Veronica Noland
Ex Officio Trustee
Mr. Tony Sanders, Chief Executive Officer