CASSA members who have exhibited exemplary leadership ability and who have enhanced school administration are eligible to receive this award which includes an honorary life membership in CASSA. Nominees are expected to have brought honor to themselves, their colleagues, and their profession; given exemplary service to their provincial or national professional association; made significant contributions to the field of education through their service, writings or other activities; and who therefore serves as a role model and teacher to others and have 5 years of membership in CASSA.


To download the Nomination Forms (Employer & Nominee) CLICK HERE.



2016 Canadian Superintendent of the Year


(WINNIPEG) Joan Carr, Superintendent for Edmonton Catholic Schools, was named the Canadian Superintendent of the Year. Carr received the EXL Award at a ceremony held at the opening of the conference in Winnipeg on July 7. 


Jointly sponsored by Xerox Canada Ltd. and CASSA, the EXL Award acknowledges exemplary leadership at a school system level, with recipients having enhanced the profession of school system administration throughout their career.


Carr, the nominee of the College of Alberta School Superintendents (CASS), was one of four nominees recognized at the CASSA Conference.


2016 EXL Award Recipient 2016 EXL Award Recipient

2016 EXL Award Recipient Joan Carr, 

Superintendent with the Edmonton Catholic School District

and Colleen Symyrozum-Watt, CASS President


2016 EXL Award Recipient Joan Carr,

Superintendent with the Edmonton Catholic School District

and Barry Litun, CASS Executive Director 


2016 EXL Finalists

2016 EXL Finalists

Left to right

Ken Bain, CASSA Executive Director, Denise McDonald, Northwest Territories Superintendents’ Association, Joan Carr, College of Alberta School Superintendents,

John Stadnyk, Ontario Catholic Supervisory Officers Association, Gail Somerville, Association of Directors General English School Boards Quebec,

Barrett Coates, XEROX








XEROX Canada EXL Award Recipients



EXL Recipient Affiliate
2016 Joan Carr CASS
2015 John Crocco OCSOA
2014 Brent Kaulback NWTSA
2013 Kim Jenkins CASS
2012 Robert Mills AAESQ
2011 Linda Fabi
Curtis Brown
2010 John Mackle OCSOA
2009 Johanne Messner OPSOA
2008 Geoff Williams OPSOA
2007 Carol Gray AAESQ
2006 Ron Canuel AAESQ
2005 Edie Wilde MASS
2004 Ed Wittchen CASS
2003 Roy Seidler MASS
2002 John Darroch CASS